Board index » jbuilder » File changed on disk bug in JBuilder9

File changed on disk bug in JBuilder9


2003-10-09 04:49:34 AM
jbuilder14
Students working along on a project in lab. Out of the blue,
JBuilder 9 pops up a dialog announcing that the file you're editing has changed and would you like to use the copy on disk?
Answer no, and it soon pops up again. Answer yes, and you've lost changes. Help!
 
 

Re:File changed on disk bug in JBuilder9

Tony deLaubenfels wrote:
Quote
Students working along on a project in lab. Out of the blue,
JBuilder 9 pops up a dialog announcing that the file you're editing has changed and would you like to use the copy on disk?

Answer no, and it soon pops up again. Answer yes, and you've lost changes. Help!
I hate to say this, but AFAIK that just doesn't happen unless the file
on disk has changed...
Who is messing with your files?
--
Regards,
Lori Olson (TeamB)
------------
Save yourself, and everyone else, some time and search the
newsgroups and the FAQ-O-Matic before posting your next
question.
Google Advanced Newsgroup Search
www.google.ca/advanced_group_search
Other Newsgroup Searches:
www.borland.com/newsgroups/ngsearch.html
Joi Ellis's FAQ-O-Matic:
www.visi.com/~gyles19/fom-serve/cache/1.html
 

Re:File changed on disk bug in JBuilder9

Tony deLaubenfels < XXXX@XXXXX.COM >wrote:
Quote
Students working along on a project in lab.
Your post is a bit short on details, so some of this will be
guesswork...
Student_s_, you say. As in: more than one. That's exactly your
problem, I think.
Quote
Out of the blue, JBuilder 9 pops up a dialog announcing that the
file you're editing has changed and would you like to use the copy
on disk?
That's because two of those students were working on the same file, in
the same location. That's a bad idea, so don't do that.
Never have more than a single person (or a single editor session,
FWIW) work on the exact same file at the same time.
Quote
Answer no, and it soon pops up again. Answer yes, and you've lost
changes.
You've just found out why things called version control systems exist.
If it happens by accident, use "save as" to save your modified version
under a different name, and close the editor. Tell everybody involved
to stop the press and do likewise, if necessary. Use tools like
'diff' and 'sdiff' to merge all those versions' changes together
again, to create a new common base version. Then do yourself a favour
and install CVS or something like it before you resume the work.
--
Hans-Bernhard Broeker ( XXXX@XXXXX.COM )
Even if all the snow were burnt, ashes would remain.
 

{smallsort}